March MyGlam

I got my March MyGlam a few weeks ago, the same week I got my Birchbox actually. I’ve put off writing a review, why? I honestly don’t know I just feel like I don’t have too much to say about it and I’m still thinking about my future with MyGlam.

 

Here is what I got this month:

myglammarch

 

 

 

043

 

To describe the products in my bag, I will first put the description that is on the MyGlam website, then below it I will add in what I thought of the product.

So the first thing in my bag was the Murad Eye Lift Perfector (retails 0.06 fl oz for $28.00)

046

 

MyGlam: “Increase your skin’s firmness by 50% in as little as 15 minutes with this revolutionary product, which relies on exclusive firming and luminating complexes to address dark circles, both instantly and long-term. A subtle tint adds just the right amount of coverage.”

Me: I tried this and honestly, I don’t really know what it was suppose to do. It really did nothing for me. This is what it looks like:

054

I applied it under my eyes and I felt like I could still see dark circles. I added more and I felt like it made my skin a little greasy. I read other people’s reviews and apparently they really liked it, but it really wasn’t for me. I would not buy this full size.

 

Next in my bag was the Pur-lisse Pur-Protect SPF 30 Essential Daily Moisturizer (retails 1.7 fl oz for $44)

045

MyGlam:Pur-lisse Pur-Protect SPF 30 Essential Daily Moisturizer delivers reliable broad-spectrum UVA/UVB protection plus rich hydration, thanks to a couple of exclusive complexes, vitamin E, soy protein and calming antioxidant white tea. Skin is left calm and smooth.”

Me: This was just a normal product. I like that it has SPF, but it smells way too much like sunscreen for me. I prefer that the SPF I use on my face doesn’t have strong scents because it really bothers me. One thing I did like about this moisturizer is that it is not greasy. I would not buy this  product full size.

 

Next was a $25 Dermstore “gift card.” It really isn’t a gift card it’s actually a discount code.

derm

MyGlam: “Enjoy this Gift Card which will save you $25 off of any order of $50 or more on DermStore.com. Each Glam Bag subscriber will get a unique code inside her Glam Bag, to enter at checkout. Please note, this offer is valid for one-time use only through May 1, 2012, and some brand exclusions apply.”

Me: I was actually not happy when I saw this in my bag. First off can you stop calling it a “gift card” everyone knows it’s a DISCOUNT CODE. I went on the Dermstore website and was looking around and they actually have some pretty great stuff. Plus free shipping which is awesome, AND free samples with every order. This was the best part of the bag, even though I had to spend $25. I wrote a post about what I got you can check it out here.

 

This next item I have yet to use. Keracolor Color-Enhancing Leave-In Hair Treatment (retails $38 for unknown oz)

050

MyGlam: “Keracolor is a daily leave-in treatment which deposits color on the hair shaft that lasts from shampoo to shampoo, giving it added depth and luminosity. Keracolor not only gives provides the freshly colored look every time, it also infuses keratin to the hair shaft adding strength and elasticity to your hair. All Keracolor products are enriched with our C.E.T. Complex to enhance, protect, strengthen & hydrate all hair types. It adds instant shine & moisture, fighting environmental stress & free radicals, while providing thermal protection. This leave-in treatment doesn’t just make your hair look healthy, it is healthy. You will look and feel like you just visited the salon every time you use Keracolor.”

Me: I actually haven’t used this yet. It’s apparently safe for all all hair types, color treated or not. On the back of the package it says you apply it to your hair while damp and style as usual. Also you have to wash your hands immediately after you use it. That freaked me out a little. I have sensitive skin so I don’t like to handle harsh chemicals ( I do that enough at work) and I especially don’t want that on my head. I’m not sure if I’m going to use the sample or not. I will not be buying this full size.

 

Next in my bag was the Glammie Classic Crease Brush & Brush Case

brush

MyGlam:Hand-selected by Michelle from her recent trip to Hong Kong for Cosmoprof Asia, freshen up your spring makeup routine with this myglam exclusive classic crease brush and case.”

Me: I have no idea what the deal was with this brush. As soon as I opened up the bag a strong smell lurked out. I opened up the brush case and it was the brush! It smelled SO bad. I had to air it out for a week, then clean the handle. It smelled like industrial glue. I haven’t used the brush because guess what, IT STILL SMELLS!!! I have no idea why, the smell isn’t as strong, but it definitely still smells. Also when I tested the brush against my skin some of the bristles fell out, so it isn’t exactly a high quality brush. Honestly you can’t expect it to be if you paid $10 for the bag.

 

The last thing in my March MyGlam bag was Murad Absolute Bronzing Boost SPF 15 (retails for $30.40 for 1 fl oz)

049

MyGlam: “ Offering natural-looking, buildable coverage, this unique formulation blends seamlessly with your skin, fostering youthful radiance while offering critical protection from the sun. Nourishing ingredients like jojoba and sweet almond oils work to minimize the look of fine lines, locking in moisture and creating a flawless canvas for makeup application.”

Me: This product was fine it provides a light tint, which was nice compared to other bronzers. I actually don’t use bronzers because I tan very easily so I don’t find a need for them. This one is light enough for me to use as a tinted moisturizer so I’ll be able to use up the sample, but I wouldn’t buy this product full size.

 

I’m going to show a picture of me wearing the Murad Eye Lift Perfector and  Murad Absolute Bronzing Boost SPF 15 but first here’s a picture of me with no make-up:

041

And now here I am wearing both products:

057

As you can see I look a little tanner, but not much difference, well to me anyway.

 

Overall, my March MyGlam was pretty lame. The only thing I liked was the discount code because I used it to get a lot of awesome stuff. I really wish the samples were bigger. I can go to Sephora and get samples that size for free. I don’t think that it’s worth the $10 so I am really thinking about canceling. I feel like I should try it for one more month then decide, but I don’t know.

 

Until next time, stay pretty <3

19 Comments to “March MyGlam”

  1. I’ve heard many stories about MyGlam bag turning out to be just meh after the first couple of months, and I’m sorry most stuff in there is a disappointment for you! Would you consider unsubscribing or are you going to stick around for just another while?

    • I’ve been thinking about this almost all month! I really want to stay and see what they have to do for next month, but honestly its kinda like buying a lottery ticket and you keep losing and you wanna buy another one just for a chance to win. I have no idea what I could get next month that would make it worth staying. I was thinking of sticking in for April and regardless of how the bag is canceling. I’m subscribed to both Birchbox and MyGlam and I only wanto to stick with one.

      • Ya, I was looking at MyGlam. It looked like the one I would most likely join. Do you like Birchbox better? I read that MyGlam generally has more makeup products and less hair and other things, which I would like.

      • I actually do like Birchbox better and @Sunny I wanted to stick around for another month, but I literally decided just now I’m canceling tomorrow haha. I’d rather spend my $10 on something else.

  2. I really hate getting sample packets that aren’t even packaged in a nice plastic container! The only exciting thing here for me is the brush because it reminds me of Too Faced eye crease brush, but from what you said, it’s not all that satisfying either :(

    • I know! I still have the packets open, but they dry up fast so i geneerally throw them away after one of two uses :| and I was really hoping my brush would be good but I don’t like that smell, it makes my fingers stink!

  3. Awesome nails, woman . . . :D

  4. They said the stuff didn’t smell before they shipped it so they thing it was from the adhesive used on the bubble mailer. I don’t know!?!? The smell on mine went away quite quickly and the brush is actually the only thing I’ve used from this months bag. I hate those little packets. I got super frustrated with it and almost cancelled then decided to give it one more month. I keep thinking that the moment I cancel the next bag is going to be amazing! They keep saying April will be good and so many people are upset with them so let’s hope they follow through on that promise.

    • The smells was not from the glue on the packages, if it was everything would smell not just the brush! How did the smell go away on yours? Did you clean it or anything? I tried cleaning it airing it out and nothing works, I don’t want to throw it away but it makes my fingers stink when I use it :\ and about the canceling I’m the exact same way! I keep thinking I’m going to cancel and next month everyone is going to get something awesome and I’m going to miss out. As of right now, I’ve decided I’m going to cancel I’m calling tomorrow. I’d rather spend my $10 on something else.

      • I agree about the smell, I don’t think it could have been the glue, if that was the case I think the whole package would have stunk before even opening it since the glue is more on the outside. I didn’t really do anything, I just let it air out, I kept it out by itself. From what I’ve read I think maybe some smelled worse than others so maybe mine wasn’t that bad and you got one of the really bad ones. Bummer because for me it was the only good thing about the bag. I didn’t have a brush like that one at all so I was excited.

      • Did you end up canceling? I’ve been checking out the sneak peeks (have you seen them?) on facebook and it does look better this month but it still doesn’t look like it’s worth it. I guess we will see when it comes. I really like Julep and Birchbox so I think I am going to cancel MyGlam and go with those two. I will decide after this bag though. I can’t keep all three!

      • I saw some of the sneak peeks too and I wasn’t too impressed, then i logged on to see if my account had been completely erased and it turns out i forgot to cancel! ugh! and i know what you mean i can’t keep just the two i have! (I’ve been skipping the julep). I also heard a lot of people disappointed with aprils birchbox, some people got laundry detergent hahaha So yeah I’m actually going to email them right now and have them cancel my myglam account.

  5. Wow, what a disappointing bag. I love the concept of these– I haven’t ordered any of them yet because it seems like every month people are kinda disappointed. Do you like birchbox more?

    • I know me too I swear I just want to start a subscription service of my own haha. I actually do like Birchbox more. I feel like the samples are better, BUT their sizes can also be small. Plus it’s not just make-up they also do skin care and lifestyle stuff which a lot of people don’t like but I actually do. So far I’m really happy with my Birchbox and I plan to continue with them. As for myglam I’m canceling tomorrow.

  6. I still enjoy seeing what folks have gotten in their GlamBags but have no desire to sign up for another one. I tried it one month and that was enough for me!

    • Yeah after this month I was so conflicted, but I’m over it. Even if next month is totally awesome and I miss out, I’m going to cancel it’s not worth it (well to me anyway).

  7. Hi Doll!
    You and your blog have been tagged @ http://poutperfection.com/2012/03/28/11-answers-11-people-11-questions-missfitz-has-been-tagged/
    much blogging love – keep up the fantastic posts!
    xxx
    missfitzzz @ http://www.poutperfection.com

  8. I’ve been on the waitlist for glambag for a while now and I’ve kept trying but no luck yet so I’m glad I got to see your review b/c I wasn’t wowed from what you got and then after reading through your comments I see you weren’t either. lol thanks for posting this, and I lover BB so I look forward to seeing what you get in your box too. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers

